AEFP Awards

The Association of Education Finance and Policy (AEFP) supports several grants and awards programs.

Nominate a student or colleague for the New Scholar, Dissertation, Early Career, or AEFP-Center for University Excellence award using this form.

The purpose of the award is to celebrate scholars who are engaged in exemplary applied research in higher education and in broad dissemination of results and policy implications. This award is designed to highlight applied education finance and/or policy research with substantial implications for public policy and practice in higher education.

The goal of AEFP’s Diversity Program is to provide opportunities for individuals who have not yet applied to doctoral programs to learn more about education finance and policy research and to help them navigate the process of applying to doctoral programs.

The Association for Education Finance and Policy (AEFP) wishes to bring more policymakers and practitioners to the annual conference to inform and benefit from the conference dialogue. Connecting researchers, policymakers, and practitioners will encourage better research and better understanding of the implications of research and will facilitate researcher-practitioner collaborations.

The AEFP Early Career Award recognizes junior scholars with exemplary early career trajectories (typically between 4 and 7 years post-doctorate) whose research substantially contributes to the field of education finance and policy.

The Association of Education Finance and Policy’s (AEFP) Jean Flanigan Outstanding Dissertation Award is intended to recognize exemplary dissertation research by doctoral students in the area of education finance and policy. Jean Flanigan a researcher for the National Education Association beginning in the late 1950's, and was a founding AEFP board member in the 1970's. She published both lay and peer reviewed education research.

Roe L. Johns Grants are need based conference grants awarded to graduate students in the area of education finance and policy who present papers at the AEFP Annual Conference.

The AEFP New Scholars Grant Program supports promising research by master’s and doctoral students whose research addresses education finance and policy. The program also aims to promote new scholars’ participation in the AEFP community.

AEFP seeks to recognize the academic contributions of the researchers in our journal, Education Finance and Policy. We are very pleased to announce the inception of the Thomas A. Downes Award for the best article published in EFP in the prior calendar year. A committee of EFP referees and editors will make the selection, to be announced at the first general session of the Annual Conference.

The Outstanding Service Award recognizes contributions made to public policy development, research, public understanding, local school finance development and service to the AEFP. The award is presented to each year's winner at the AEFP Annual Conference.

The American Educational Research Association (AERA) provides AERA Grants, a program that provides small grants, fellowships, and training for researchers who conduct studies of education policy and practice, using quantitative methods. Grant program studies includes data analysis from the large-scale data sets sponsored by National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) and the National Science Foundation (NSF).