Roe L. Johns Grants

Roe L. Johns was a pioneer in school finance and was a long time professor of Education Administration at the University of Florida. He was active in the state of Alabama early in his career and then in Florida, working on Education Finance issues. Roe L. Johns was one of the founders of Association for Education Finance and Policy (formerly American Education Finance Association) and became AEFP's first president in 1975.

Roe L. Johns Travel Grants are need based conference grants awarded to graduate students in the area of education finance and policy who present papers at AEFP’s Annual Conference. This year students are eligible to receive up to $260 to cover membership and registration for the conference. 

The following criteria are used to determine who will receive travel grants:

  • Grants will only be given to individuals who are presenting a paper or participating in a poster session at the AEFP Annual Conference. Students presenting papers in sessions will be given priority over students presenting posters, but if funding permits, AEFP will provide travel grants to students presenting posters. Note that if a paper is co-authored, only the presenter(s) is/are eligible for the award. Papers may have more than one presenter.
  • Priority is given to those who have no other source of funds to finance travel to the conference.

To apply for funds, please complete the application below. 

Application Deadline: 
February 12, 2021
Announcements wil be made the following week. 

If you have any questions, please contact AEFP at