AEFP 44th Annual Conference

Building the Connections Between Research and Policy

Kansas City Marriott Downtown - Kansas City, Missouri
March 21-23, 2019

Accessing and Exploring NCES Data through Data Tools and New Training Modules

Pre-Conference Workshop: Thursday March 15, 2018, 8:30am - 12:00pm
Cost: $100

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) has several state-of-the-art data tools that allow users to easily access and analyze data. This course provides participants with a comprehensive overview of those tools to access data sets. Participants will learn how to access public-use and restricted-use data sets, create reports and data tables, find published reports, and conduct analyses in selected statistical tools. NCES offers a large variety of national, state, local, school, and student data sets including assessment data, cross-sectional data, survey data, and administrative records. Participants will understand which data sets cover their educational topic of interest. The course is designed for graduate students, faculty members, researchers, and other users with an interest in using NCES data for their research studies, evaluations, and data projects. Participants are not required to have any pre-requisite skills to attend, and should bring their personal laptops for interactive, in-class activities. Each participant will receive an Accessing and Exploring NCES Data “cookbook” that provides comprehensive instruction and screen shots explaining how to navigate six NCES data tools and one distance learning module.

First, the session will introduce NCES’ Distance Learning Dataset Training System (DLDT), which provides information about all NCES datasets and the tools that users need in order to find published reports, explore and acquire data, create data files, and conduct analyses in selected statistical software packages. The DLDT provides instruction in how to properly use NCES public-use and restricted-use datasets. Second, the session will also offer an in-depth instruction on six NCES data tools, including the Elementary/Secondary Information System (ELSI); the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) Data Explorer; the Educational Data Analysis Tool (EDAT); the Educational Demographic and Geographic Estimates (EDGE) table viewer; Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS); and the Civil Rights Data Collection (CRDC) Data Tool.

Instructor Information
Stephen Q. Cornman, co-Session Organizer – stephen.cornman@ed.gov
Emmanuel Sikali, co-Session Organizer – emmanuel.sikali@ed.gov
Laura Nixon –laura.c.nixon@census.gov
Gigi Jones – gigi.jones@ed.gov
Stephanie Miller─stephanie.miller@ed.gov
Osei Ampadu─osei.l.ampadu@ed.gov
Stephen Wheeler─stephen.wheeler@ed.gov
Andrew White─andrew.white@ed.gov

Cost: $100