AEFP 46th Annual Conference

Promoting Equity and Opportunity Through Education Policy Research

Held Virtually from March 17-19, 2021

AEFP 46th Annual Conference Program - Contacts

March 17-19, 2021

Note: All times are Eastern Time (EST). Program is updated as of 2/28/2021.
Zoom: Conference access and Zoom links will be available soon here.

Download full program

Concurrent Session I - Wednesday, March 17, 2021 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
1.01 - Demographic Matching and Educational Outcomes
Educator labor markets (e.g., compensation, pensions, mobility, supply and demand)
Room: Room 1

Chair: Kyle Arnone, American Federation of Teachers (KArnone@aft.org)

David Blazar (dblazar@umd.edu), University of Maryland College Park. Professional Staff Diversity and Student Outcomes: Extending Our Understanding of Race/Ethnicity-Matching Effects in Education. Francisco Lagos (flagosm@umd.edu), University of Maryland College Park
Christopher Cleveland (chcleveland@g.harvard.edu), Harvard University. The Effect of Teacher Demographic Match on Social-Emotional Learning. Ethan Scherer (ethan_scherer@gse.harvard.edu), Center for Education Policy Research at Harvard University, Martin West (martin_west@gse.harvard.edu), Harvard Graduate School of Education, Rebecca Ivester (rebeccaannivester@gmail.com), Abt Associates
Ikhee Cho (ikhee.cho@mail.missouri.edu), University of Missouri. The Effects of Demographic Factors Between Principal and Teacher on School Climate
1.02 - Topics in Early Elementary and PreK Education
Early childhood
Room: Room 2

Chair: Kathryn Chapman, University of Kentucky (Kathryn.Chapman@uky.edu)

Michael Gottfried (mgottfr2@upenn.edu), University of Pennsylvania. Do Early Elementary Classrooms with High Rates of Absenteeism Inhibit Individual Success? Exploring Achievement, Executive Function, and Social Skills Outcomes. Arya Ansari (ansari.81@osu.edu), The Ohio State University
Michael Little (mhlittle@ncsu.edu), North Carolina State University. The New American Elementary School? A Descriptive Analysis of Pre-K in Public Schools
1.03 - Long-Run Effects of Postsecondary Education
Long-term outcomes of education (e.g., employment, wages, civic participation)
Room: Room 3

Chair: Todd Jones, Mississippi State University (toddrandyjones@gmail.com)

Christopher Erwin (christopher.erwin@aut.ac.nz), Auckland University of Technology. Better late than never? Wage effects of delayed baccalaureate graduation in the United States. Xiaoxue Li (lix@unm.edu), University of New Mexico, Melissa Binder (mbinder@unm.edu), University of New Mexico
Jonathan Smith (jsmith500@gsu.edu), Georgia State University. The Economic Impact of Access to Public Four-Year Colleges. Joshua Goodman (edecjosh@bu.edu), Boston University, Michael Hurwitz (mhurwitz@collegeboard.org), College Board
Lauren Russell (lrus@sas.upenn.edu), University of Pennsylvania. Long-Run Educational Attainment Effects of Local Colleges: Evidence from the Establishment of U.S. Colleges. Lei Yu (adamyu@sas.upenn.edu), University of Pennyslvania, Mike Andrews (Baltimore County), University of Maryland
1.04 - COVID Responses & Unequal Opportunity Part 1
COVID
Room: Room 4

Chair: Bryant Hopkins, New York University (bgh240@nyu.edu)

Douglas Harris (dharri5@tulane.edu), Tulane University. The Effects of School Re-Opening on COVID Transmission and Hospitalizations. Engy Ziedan (eziedan@tulane.edu), Tulane University, Susan Hassig (shassig@tulane.edu), Tulane University
Melissa Lovitz (melissa.lovitz@tufts.edu), Tufts University. The COVID Classroom: How Districts, Schools, and Educators Responded to the Pandemic. Amy Cummings (cummi264@msu.edu), Michigan State University, Meg Turner (turne278@msu.edu), Michigan State University, Tara Kilbride (kilbrid9@msu.edu), Michigan State University, Katharine Strunk (kstrunk@msu.edu), Michigan State University, Qiong Zhu, Michigan State University
Shira Haderlein (shirakor@usc.edu), University of Southern California. Educational Experiences of American Families in the Time of COVID: Evidence from a Nationally Representative Panel. Daniel Silver (dsilver@usc.edu), University of Southern California, Anna Saavedra (asaavedr@usc.edu), University of Southern California, Morgan Polikoff (polikoff@usc.edu), University of Southern California, Amie Rapaport (arapaport@gibsonconsult.com), Gibson Consulting, Marshall Garland, Gibson Consulting
1.05 - Alternatives to Traditional Schooling
K-12 school choice
Room: Room 5

Chair: Andrea Bingham, University of Colorado Colorado Springs (andreajbingham@gmail.com)

Alexander Poon (apoon@classlink.com), ClassLink. Use of Instructional Technology and Student Learning. Mary Batiwalla (mbatiwalla@classlink.com), ClassLink
Blake Heller (bheller@g.harvard.edu), Harvard University. The evolving role of high school equivalency credentials in the 21st century
Danielle Sutherland (suthe130@msu.edu), Michigan State University. Peddle to the Metal: Inconsistencies in Student Advancement in Personalized Learning Environments. Katharine Strunk (kstrunk@msu.edu), Michigan State University, Jesse Nagel (nageljes@msu.edu), Michigan State University, Tara Kilbride (kilbrid9@msu.edu), Michigan State University
1.06 - Educational Investments and Policymaking
K-12 school finance
Room: Room 6

Chair: Larry Picus, USC (lpicus@rossier.usc.edu)

Ezra Karger (ezra.karger@gmail.com), University of Chicago. The Returns to Public Library Investment. Gregory Gilpin (gregory.gilpin@montana.edu), Montana State University, Peter Nencka (nenckap@miamioh.edu), Miami University
Emily Brixey (Denver), University of Colorado. Education Spending and Outcomes: Analysis from a Public Finance Perspective
Fiona Hollands (fmh7@tc.columbia.edu), Teachers College - Columbia University. A comparison of three methods for providing local evidence to inform school district budget decisions. Robert Shand (rshand@american.edu), American University, Bo Yan (KY), Jefferson County Public Schools, Stephen Leach (KY), Jefferson County Public Schools, Dena Dossett (KY), Jefferson County Public Schools, Florence Chang, Jefferson County Public Schools, Yilin Pan, World Bank
1.07 - Special Topics: Community Colleges
Post-secondary access, admissions, and success
Room: Room 7

Chair: Dave Marcotte, American University (marcotte@american.edu)

Cassandra Hart (Davis), University of California. COVID-19 and Community College Instructional Responses. Di Xu (Irvine), University of California, Michael Hill (Irvine), University of California, Emily Alonso (Davis), University of California
Joshua Dorman (Irvine), University of California. Distance of Opportunity: Community College Students and Cross-Enrollment. Michael Hill (Irvine), University of California, Elizabeth Park (Irvine), University of California, Maritza Morales-Gracia (Irvine), University of California, Rachel Baker (Irvine), University of California
Cheng Qian (chengqian@mail.missouri.edu), University of Missouri. The Potential for Community College Students to Expand and Diversify University Degree Production in STEM Fields. Cory Koedel (koedelc@missouri.edu), University of Missouri
1.08 - The Impacts of Tuition Reduction Programs in Higher Education
Post-secondary financial aid and student debt
Room: Room 8

Chair: Lesley Turner, Vanderbilt University (lesley.j.turner@vanderbilt.edu)

Davíd Martínez (DGMAR@mailbox.sc.edu), University of South Carolina. The Limits of Policy Neutrality for Combatting Persistent Racial Disparities Through Tuition-Free Promise Programs: A Critical Race Theory Perspective. Daniel Collier (collier@upjohn.org), W.E. Upjohn Institute, W. Byrd (wcbyrd@umich.edu), University of Michigan, Isabel McMullen (mcmullen@upjohn.org), W.E. Upjohn Institute
Suzanne Duryea (SuzanneD@iadb.org), Inter-American Development Bank. The Long-Term Effects of a Tuition-Free University on Crime. Rafael Ribas (r.perezribas@uva.nl), University of Amsterdam, Breno Sampaio (breno.sampaio@ufpe.br), Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Gustavo Sampaio (gustavo.sampaio@ufpe.br), Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Giuseppe Trevisan (giuseppe.trevisan@ufpe.br), Universidade Federal de Pernambuco
Taylor Delaney (td1553a@student.american.edu), American University. The Impact of Merit Aid on Matriculation and Persistence of Non-Needy Students. Seth Gershenson (gershens@american.edu), American University
1.09 - The Labor Market Value of Specialized Degrees & Athletics Outcomes
Post-secondary general papers
Room: Room 9

Chair: James Ward, Ithaka S+R (jdw46@cornell.edu)

Albert Cheng (axc070@uark.edu), University of Arkansas. The Value of College Athletics in the Labor Market: Results from a Resume Audit Field Experiment. James Paul (jdp038@uark.edu), University of Arkansas, Jay Greene (jpg@uark.edu), University of Arkansas, Josh McGee (jbm04@uark.edu), University of Arkansas
Christopher Bennett (chris.bennett@vanderbilt.edu), Vanderbilt University. Master’s for hire: Experimental evidence on employers’ perceptions of master’s degrees from for-profit institutions
Torbet McNeil (tmcneil@email.arizona.edu), University of Arizona. Evaluating undergraduate data science curricula: what does a degree in data science actually mean?. Jeffrey Oliver (jcoliver@email.arizona.edu), University of Arizona
1.11 - Exclusionary Disciplinary Practices
Causes and consequences of inequity in education
Room: Room 11

Chair: Carolyn Sattin-Bajaj, University of California-Santa Barbara (carolynsattin-bajaj@ucsb.edu)

Christina LiCalsi (clicalsi@air.org), American Institutes for Research. The Effects of Exclusionary Discipline Type and Length on Student and Peer Educational Outcomes and School Climate in New York City High Schools. David Osher (dosher@air.org), American Institutes for Research, Paul Bailey (pbailey@air.org), American Institutes for Research
Jing Liu (jliu28@umd.edu), University of Maryland. From Referrals to Suspensions: Unpacking the Origins of Racial Disparities in Exclusionary Discipline. Michael Hayes (michael.hayes012@gmail.com), Rutgers University Camden, Seth Gershenson (seth.gershenson@gmail.com), American University
Ying Shi (yshi78@syr.edu), Syracuse University. The Many Faces of Bias at School? Racial Disparities in Exclusionary Discipline and Teacher Judgment. Maria Zhu (mzhu33@syr.edu), Syracuse University
1.12 - New Perspectives on School Turnaround
K-12 interventions and short-term outcomes (academic and non-academic)
Room: Room 12

Chair: Beth Schueler, University of Virginia (beth_schueler@virginia.edu)

Erica Harbatkin (harbatki@msu.edu), Michigan State University. Do Culture and Climate Mediate School Turnaround? Evidence from Michigan’s Partnership Model of School and District Improvement. Jason Burns (jason.burns@shu.edu), Michigan State University, Katharine Strunk (kstrunk@msu.edu), Michigan State University, Samantha Cullum (cullumsa@msu.edu), Michigan State University
Joshua Childs (joshuachilds@austin.utexas.edu), University of Texas - Austin. Can Career Academies Work as a School Turnaround Strategy?. Shaun Dougherty (shaun.dougherty@vanderbilt.edu), Vanderbilt University, Hannah Kistler (hannah.kistler@vanderbilt.edu), Vanderbilt University
Valentina Martinez Pabon (vmartinezpabon@tulane.edu), Tulane University. The Effect of No Child Left Behind on Performance-Based School Closure
1.10 - Housing and Education
Causes and consequences of inequity in education
Room: Room 10

Chair: Daniel Thatcher, National Conference of State Legislatures (daniel.thatcher@ncsl.org)

Agustina Laurito (malaurit@uic.edu), University of Illinois at Chicago. Racial/Ethnic Differences in Homeownership and Gaps in Student Achievement. Sarah Cordes (sarah.cordes@temple.edu), Temple University
Galit Eizman (galiteiz7@gmail.com), HKS. Real Estate and Education in America –The Hidden and Revealed Ties. Julia Robinson-Rosendorff (hks.eizman@gmail.com), Brandeis
Alisha Butler (abutler1@umd.edu), University of Maryland - College Park. There Goes the Neighborhood School: Investigating How Educators Respond to Gentrification in Washington, DC